logo APF

The Australian Philatelic Federation (APF) was formed in Sydney in 1983 and became incorporated in Canberra in 1985

The APF is the peak National body of organised philately in Australia. It is a federation of the seven State organisations (ACT Philatelic Council, Philatelic Association of NSW, Queensland Philatelic Council, South Australian Philatelic Council, Tasmanian Stamp Council, Victorian Philatelic Council, and Western Australian Philatelic Council) whose members, in turn, are representatives of local clubs and societies, stamp dealers and in some cases representatives of Australia Post.

The Federation is a member of the Federation Internationale de Philatelie (FIP) and the Federation of Inter-Asian Philately (FIAP).

The Federation is responsible for the organization of National competitive philatelic exhibitions and participation in international exhibitions through its affiliations. As well, it is responsible for the promotion of organised philately nationally, and representation to Australia Post on their promotion and stamp-issuing policy.

The APF trains and accredits philatelic judges at the National level within Australia. More details about the APF can be found at their website www.apf.org.au


Over the years a very close working relationship has been developed between the two organisations.

APF / NZPF accord

This accord provides for exhibitors and jurors to take part in the national exhibitions held in each country. This regular exchange provides opportunities for:

  • exhibitors to have their exhibits assessed in a different environment by different jurors;
  • the judges to gain wider experience developing their skills and knowledge; and
  • exhibitions to have examples of exhibits that might otherwise not be seen in the respective countries.
Australasian Challenge

Formal entries to the Challenge are made by the appropriate Australian State Philatelic Councils and the NZPF (who are represented by two teams – one from the North Island and one from the South).

Each Team entry is comprised of five adult entries (one of whom is a novice exhibitor) plus one Youth entry – a total of six entries. ‘Novice’ is defined as an exhibitor who has never previously entered a National Show (in Australia, New Zealand or elsewhere).

The exhibits are judged at a national level using the FIP or other approved rules. The marks for each of the six entries are totalled and the team with the highest number of marks is declared the champion. The jury is composed of accredited national judges from Australia and New Zealand.

The winning Team receives the Ed Druce Memorial Trophy. This is a perpetual trophy and the winners of a challenge holds the trophy until the next challenge.