The Federation will publicise here awards given by Federation member societies provided that the awards are available to persons other than just members of the society giving the award.

Frank Watters Memorial Award (Taranaki Philatelic Society)

Following the death of Frank Watters in 1993, a memorial fund was set up to provide an annual prize to be awarded to a deserving New Zealand philatelist who has made a significant contribution in either the area of postal history or junior philately.

Philatelic societies in New Zealand are sent out a nomination form early each year seeking nominations. Once nominations are closed, usually the end of April, the president of the Taranaki Philatelic Society and the President of the Postal History Society decide the winner for the year.

The award is presented at an appropriate event. The winner is awarded a certificate, a monetary amount and also a trophy in the form of a clock which they hold for one year.

The clock is made out of ancient swamp kauri from Takanini, South Auckland that had been buried for a period of 1290 years.

Recipients of the Frank Watters Memorial Award
1997 Mrs Barbara Streeter, South Auckland 1998 Mr Rob Hunt, North Shore
1999 Mrs Heather Smart, Ashhurst 2000 Mr Robin Startup, Masterton
2001 Mr Tom O’Carroll, Christchurch 2002 Mr Keith Griffiths, Auckland
2003 Mrs Elizabeth Brown, Dargaville 2004 Mr Richard Armstrong, Auckland
2005 Mr Keith Richards, Hastings 2006 Mr Ross Gainsford, Lower Hutt
2007 Mr David Shand and Rob Carlyon, Tauranga 2008 Mr Alan Jackson, Christchurch
2009 [not awarded] 2010 Mr John Waller, Hamilton
2011 Mr Robert Rush, Christchurch 2012 Mr G I Robertson, Auckland
2013 Mr Brian Ducker, Tauranga 2014 Mr Tim Beach, Auckland
2015 Mr Alan Tunnicliffe, Christchurch 2016 Mr Mike Steele, Auckland
2017 [not awarded] 2018 Ms Leila Thompson, Hutt Valley
2019 [not awarded] 2020 [not awarded]
2021 [not awarded]

Further details about the Frank Watters Memorial Award can be obtained from the Secretary of the Taranaki Philatelic Society.