• Exhibitions
  • Charities Act
  • PYC Stamp Camps – a history
  • NZ National Philatelic Trust
  • Funding exhibitors at exhibitions
  • Federation AGM
  • Federation Awards for 2007


Upcoming New Zealand exhibitions

There is an interesting programme of exhibitions coming up for those of you who like exhibiting or just looking, or adding to your collections.

Tarapex 2008, 7-9 Nov 2008 (incorporating the Australasian Challenge)
National Literature Exhibition, 27 June 2009, Palmerston North
Timpex 2009, 17-19 Oct 2009, Timaru
Palmpex 2010, Oct/Nov 2010, Palmerston North
Canpex 2011, August 2011, Christchurch

Upcoming Overseas Exhibitions

Taipei, FIAP, 7-11 Mar 2008, Commissioner Norman Banfield
Canberra Stampshow 2008, Nat, 14-16 Mar 2008, Commissioner/Judge Jenny Banfield
Israel 2008, FIP, 14-22 May 2008, Commissioner Barry Scott
Efiro 2008 (Bucharest), FIP, 20-28 Jun 2008, Commissioner Ross Marshall
Sunstamp 2008 (Brisbane), Nat, 22-24 Aug 2008, Commissioner Tim Beach
Praga 2008, FIP, 12-14 Sept 2008, Commissioner Don Richardson
Jakarta, FIAP, 23-28 Oct 2008, Commissioner Len Jury
Hong Kong, FIAP, 30 Jan –3 Feb 2009, Commissioner Norman Banfield
Melbourne Stampshow 2009, Nat, 16-19 Apr 2009
Philakorea 2009, FIAP, 30 Jul – 4 Aug 2009, Commissioner Jenny Banfield
China, FIP, 16-19 Apr 2009, Commissioner Jeff Long
Dubai 2009, FIAP, Nov/Dec 2009 ?
London 2010, FIP, 8-15 May 2010, Commissioner Robyn Gwynn
India 2010, FIP, Sep 2010, Commissioner Barry Scott
Lisbon 2010, FIP, 1-10 Oct 2010, Commissioner Don Richardson
JOBURG 2010 (S Africa), FIAP, 27-31 Oct 2010, Commissioner Ross Marshall

Charities Act

The NZPF Secretary recently sent out a special notice about this Act and its likely applicability to philatelic clubs and societies.

Most of our members will be non-profit organisations and are therefore not liable for income tax on the first $1,000 of non-member income, but will probably not be a charity in terms of the new Act. It is strongly recommended you follow up on this matter, by reading the notice sent out by the Secretary and accessing the www.charities.govt.nz website.

PYC Stamp Camps – a History

The Philatelic Youth Council (PYC) launched a new book at Huttpex covering the first 40 years of youth camps in NZ, 1966-2006. It has many photos of campers and venues and camp philatelic items, and is available from the PYC, P O Box 2979, Auckland for $35 plus $5 postage.

The NZ National Philatelic Trust

The Trust has supported a range of philatelic activities in NZ over many years now, including national exhibitions. It receives top-up funding from time to time from NZ Post. Organisers of future national exhibitions should note that there will be a profit-sharing arrangement between the exhibition and the trust in return for funding from NZ Post.

Funding Exhibitors at Exhibitions

The Central Districts Philatelic Trust has decided it will assist those wishing to exhibit in FIP or FIAP or NZPF-approved overseas exhibitions by considering applications to reimburse the NZPF levy component, currently $6 per frame, for exhibitors resident in the Central Districts region. An application to the Trust, at PO Box 315, Palmerston North, is required.

Federation Annual General Meeting

The 59th Federation AGM was held on November 24 last year, hosted by the Association of Northern Philatelic Societies.

24 member societies were represented.

With Secretary David Fentress and President Jenny Banfield stepping down after many years of service, philately is fortunate that Len Jury stood for the position of President and Bob Gibson as Secretary. Terry Isaac was re-appointed as Treasurer, so there remains a full team of Federation officers.

Federation Awards for 2007

At the AGM, President Jenny Banfield announced the 2007 NZPF Awards.

Award of Honour: Stephen Chivers, David Smitham and Trevor Bevan.
Philatelist of the Year Award: Ross Marshall
Deserving Philatelist Awards: Leigh Gravestock, Helen Harris, Lynne Nichol, Graeme Russell and Heather Smart.

Upcoming Federation Meetings

If you have any matters you would like discussed at a Federation meeting, please contact your local Federation regional delegate.

Southern Region: Geoff Tyson, John Wilson (Timaru)
Central Region: Norman Banfield, Terry Isaac
Northern Region: Barry Scott, Monica Comrie

or the Federation Secretary Bob Gibson or President Len Jury

The next meeting is scheduled for 29 Mar at the Wellington Airport Conference Centre.

Contact Details

If you have any comments, helpful ideas or want further information, contact the editor, Jeff Long, at [email protected] or the Secretary, Bob Gibson, at PO Box 58139, Whitby, Porirua 5245 or at [email protected]

Next newsletter Previous newsletter [46 – Sep 2007]