• 2002 AGM
  • Federation executive
  • Federation website
  • FIP news
  • Museum of NZ
  • Exhibition news
  • Youth philatelist of the year
  • Federation awards
  • Exhibition frame fees
  • Auckland Philatelic Society
  • North Shore Philatelic Society
  • NZPF award certificates
  • Other NZPF product

2002 Annual General Meeting

We would remind all members that the Federation AGM for 2002 will be held on Saturday 9 November at the betty Campbell centre in Wellington. As usual the AGM will be preceded by the Federation executive meeting on Friday evening and Saturday morning.

Federation Executive

We are pleased to welcome Geoff Tyson to the Federation executive as the second delegate for the Southern Region.

Federation President, Keith Griffiths has recently been hospitalised with pneumonia. We are please to advise Keith is now progressively recovering from his illness.

Federation Website

The webmaster advised the website is still receiving a considerable number of hits. He does also record a number of societies have still not provided any details for their webpage and a number of others are somewhat outdated. Secretaries are urged to ensure their society details are up to date.

FIP News

At the elections held at the 67th FIP Congress at Philakorea 2002 in Seoul the following were elected to office:

President Koh Seow Chuan
Vice President Raymond Todd
Director Tay Peng Hian

We congratulate these FIAP members on their appointment.

Museum of New Zealand

We note from a recent article in the Dominion Post the Museum of New Zealand, Te Papa, has purchased a major New Zealand postal history collection containing material dating from 1818 to 1873. The collection is noted as containing more than 200 letters, envelopes, stamps and maps covering the period of the land wars.

Exhibition News

Welpex 2003 Stamp Show

A National Exhibition to be held in Wellington from 5-7 November 2003 with Stephen Chivers as Exhibition Chairman. Other members of the committee include Secretary Stephen Jones, Treasurer Norman Banfield, Jury Chairman Bryan Ogier and NZPF co-ordinator Brian Vincent.

Kiwipex 2006

National exhibition to be held in Christchurch in November 2006 with David Smitham as Chairman. Others nominated to the committee include Secretary Karen Jeffrey, Treasurer Graham Muir, Jury Chairman Bruce Alexandre and NZPF co-ordinator Sue McIntosh.

Other Exhibitions

Discussions are still ongoing with others to determine whether exhibitions may be held in 2004 and 2005.

An exhibition to be held at the museum during 2005 to celebrate the 150th anniversary of postage stamps in New Zealand, is being investigated by NZPF and Te Papa. This will not be a competitive exhibition but will be a display demonstrating the history of postal services and their influence on our society and the development of the country. It is anticipated that both stamps and postal history will be involved along with other aspects of the postal services.

Exhibition Results – Philakorea 2002

Greg Francis, Gold (90 points)
Robert Livingstone, Gold (90)
Graeme Russell, Vermeil (80)
Tony Thackeray, Vermeil (80)
Alistair Waller, Silver (Youth) (71)

Jenny Banfield was awarded a ‘Very Good” in the Open Class.

Our congratulations go to all exhibitors.

Youth Philatelist of the Year

Nominations for Youth Philatelist of the Year close with the Federation Secretary, P O Box 19 119, HAMILTON on 31 August each year. The members of the awards committee for 2002 is Ivor Masters of NZ Post, John Waller of Philatelic Youth Council and David Fentress of NZPF. Nomination forms together with criteria for awards and details of the application procedure can be found in Section B of the Federation resource Kit.

Federation Awards

Members are reminded now is the time to submit nominations for consideration for receipt of the various Federation awards. These awards include Award of Honour, Philatelist of the Year and Deserving Philatelists. Rules and criteria relating to the awards can be found in the Federation Resource Kit together with the relevant forms.

Exhibition Frame Fees

In an attempt to offset some of the costs being incurred for overseas delegates or commissioners the following decisions were made at the last federation meeting.

  • An increase of $3.00 on frame fees for all national exhibitions meaning that frame fees to be paid by the organising committee will, in future, be $6.00 per frame. This levy will be collected by the organising committee from the exhibitor.
  • A charge of $6.00 per frame will be levied on all overseas exhibitions where exhibits are carried by a commissioner. The levy will be collected by the commissioner.
Auckland Philatelic Society

The Auckland Philatelic Society is celebrating its 80th Anniversary with a dinner to be held at Springs Restaurant on 22 October 2002. Anyone interested in attending should contact the society secretary.

North Shore Philatelic Society

The North Shore Philatelic Society would like to draw attention to their 2002 Annual Competitive Stamp Exhibition to be held on Saturday 5 October at the St Georges Church Hall located at the corner of Anzac Street and The Terrace, Takapuna. The exhibition opens at 10am and closes at 4pm. Entries, which can be either 16- or 32-pages, will be judged to national exhibition standards.

In addition to the competition there will be six stamp dealers present offering their material. There will also be a treasure hunt as well as a raffle to support. Presentation of awards is scheduled for 3pm. Home-made sandwiches, cakes and other refreshments will be available at a modest charge. For more details contact the North Shore Philatelic Society, P O Box 34 253, Birkenhead, AUCKLAND.

NZPF Award Certificates

Some time ago we advised the Federation secretary had award certificates available for use by member societies. A number of these certificates are still available. On request they will be sent without charge in reasonable quantities to member societies for use for society awards. The certificates are printed in three colours on medium weight, watermarked parchment paper and measure 178 x 213 mm. There are three different types as follows:

  • Certificate of Participation
  • NZPF Certificate of Participation
  • New Zealand Post Premier Award Certificate.

Orders MUST be accompanied by a SAE envelope of suitable size and should be sent to the Secretary, NZPF, PO Box 19 119, HAMILTON.

Other NZPF Product

The secretary advises he also has the following items for sale on behalf of the Federation.

  • Postcards: historic postal scenes in sepia colour. Cards are 175 x 120 mm in size. Set of 10 different, post paid in New Zealand $5.00 including GST.
  • Lapel pins: black enamel on gold, Width of pin 16 mm. These are NOT the same as Federation award pins. Show your support for New Zealand philately! Post paid in New Zealand $5.00 including GST.

In both cases orders including payment to Secretary, NZPF, P O Box 19 119, HAMILTON.

Next newsletter Previous newsletter [32 – May 2002]